Event rate of 0 vote
Admin | Created on Tuesday, 01 September 2015
01 to 14 Jul 2019
10:00 to 18:00
London , England
All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club

The Wimbledon Championship travel services

The Wimbledon Championship Exhibition services

The Wimbledon Championship will be held 01 to 14 Jul 2019 in London, England.
The Wimbledon Championship is the oldest and arguably most prestigious event in the sport of tennis. It is held annually at the All England Club in Wimbledon, a suburb of London, in June or July every year. The tournament starts 6 weeks before the first Monday in August, and lasts for two weeks subject to extensions for rain. From 2015, the event start date was extended to one week later so that there was 3 weeks break after the French Open. Five major, junior, and invitational events are held each year. Wimbledon traditions include a strict dress code for competitors, the eating of strawberries and cream by the spectators, and Royal patronage. The tournament is also notable for the absence of sponsor advertising around the courts. In 2009, Wimbledon's Centre Court was fitted with a retractable roof to lessen the loss of playing time due to rain. Who is going to win this year's competition? Join us to find it out! The Wimbledon Championship is an event and I like events...

Add news

News Submission Form:

Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input

The Wimbledon Championship tournament is the third Tennis Grand Slam event played each year, preceded by the Australian Open and the French Open, and followed by the U.S. Open. It is the only Grand Slam event currently played on grass, though the US Open and more recently the Australian Open was once played on grass. Many separate tournaments are held simultaneously as part of the Wimbledon tournament.

Main Events 

  • Gentlemen's Singles 
  • Ladies' Singles 
  • Gentlemen's Doubles 
  • Ladies' Doubles 
  • Mixed Doubles 

Youth tournaments

  • Boys' Singles
  • Girls' Singles
  • Boys' Doubles
  • Girls' Doubles
  • Special invitational tournaments
  • 35 and over Gentlemen's Doubles
  • 45 and over Gentlemen's Doubles
  • 35 and over Ladies' Doubles
  • wheelchair doubles


About seeding at The Wimbledon Championships                         

A simplified form of seeding was introduced in 1924 when up to four representatives of a nation were drawn in the four different quarters of the draw.

In 1927 full seeding was carried out and competitors were selected according to ability, irrespective of nationality.

Seeding has been based on computer rankings since 1975.

Since 1927 only two unseeded players have won the Gentlemen’s Singles - Boris Becker in 1985 and Goran Ivanisevic in 2001.

No unseeded player has won the Ladies’ Singles.

Eleven unseeded players have reached the final of the Gentlemen’s Singles and four unseeded players have reached the final of the Ladies’ Singles. 

Today there are 32 seeds in Gentlemen's and Ladies' singles.                      

About Tournaments trophies

Gentlemen's single trophy is a cup, which is made of silver gilt, stands 18 inches high and has a diameter of 7.5 inches. The inscription on the Cup reads: "The All England Lawn Tennis Club Single Handed Championship of the World".
Around the bowl are engraved the dates and names of the Champions. In 2009, there being no space left to engrave the names of the Champions, a black plinth with an ornamented silver band was designed to accompany the Cup. The Champions receive a three-quarter size replica of the Cup bearing the names of all past Champions (height 13.5 inches).
The Ladies' Singles Trophy is a silver salver, sometimes referred to as the Rosewater Dish or Venus Rosewater Dish, which was first presented to the Champion when the challenge round was introduced in 1886.
The Gentlemen's Doubles Trophy is a silver challenge cup for the Gentlemen's Pairs' competition. When the doubles moved to Wimbledon in 1884 the Oxford University Lawn Tennis Club presented the trophy to the All England Club.
The Ladies' Doubles Trophy is an elegant silver cup and cover, known as The Duchess of Kent Challenge Cup, presented to the Club in 1949 by HRH The Princess Marina, President of the All England Club.
The Mixed Doubles Trophy is a silver challenge cup and cover presented to the All England Club by the family of the late S.H. Smith. S.H. Smith won the doubles title in 1902 and 1906, in partnership with the late F.L. Riseley.
The All England Club has awarded a total of £26.75m in prize money to competitors at The Championships, 2019. The Gentlemen's and Ladies' Singles Champions each has received £1.88m.

For further information, please visit the official website at http://www.wimbledon.com/index.html

Venue of The Wimbledon Championship

All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club
Church Rd, Wimbledon, London SW19 5AE, United Kingdom

You can also enter your comment about this event

Stay up-to-date
Sign up for the latest news and information related to The Wimbledon Champ...