Report incorrect information
Admin | Created on Tuesday, 01 September 2015
14 to 27 Jan 2019
10:00 to 18:00
Melbourne , Australia
Melbourne Park

Australian Open Tennis travel services

Australian Open Tennis Exhibition services

Australian Open Tennis will be held 14 to 27 Jan 2019 in Melbourne, Australia.
Australian Open Tennis is the first of the 4 Grand Slams of Tennis held each year. The other Grand Slams are the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open, out of these, the Australian Open is annually the second most attended, behind the US Open. The event is managed by Tennis Australia, is held at Melbourne Park and is known as the “Players Favorite“. The tournament consists of Singles, Doubles and Mixed Doubles Play, along with other Junior and Wheelchair tournaments. The Australian Open is Australia’s biggest and arguably most loved sporting event. Get ready to experience another edition of unforgettable Grand Slam tennis. Summer in Australia is tennis. Balmy nights, superstar tennis players, colourful fans and unpredictable matches causing some to weep in sorrow and others to shed tears of jubilation. In January, the eyes of the world focus on Melbourne Park as the world’s best tennis players battle for one of the most prestigious Grand Slam titles the sport has to offer. You don’t want to miss a minute of the action, so be there to experience the passion and determination as the world’s star tennis players compete for the ultimate prize and prestige. Australian Open Tennis is an event and I like events...

Add news

News Submission Form:

Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input
Invalid Input

Australian Open Tennis 2018:

The world’s best tennis players will return to Melbourne Park for two adrenalin-charged weeks. The Grand Slam of Asia Pacific – a highlight of the world tennis calendar – will again unite the city. The Australian Open is managed by Tennis Australia, formerly the Lawn Tennis Association of Australia (LTAA), and was first played at the Warehouseman's Cricket Ground in Melbourne in 1905. This facility is now known as the Albert Reserve Tennis Centre. The tournament was first known as the Australasian Championships and then became the Australian Championships in 1927 and the Australian Open in 1969. Since 1905, the Australian Open has been staged in five Australian and two New Zealand cities as follows: Melbourne (55 times), Sydney (17 times), Adelaide (14 times), Brisbane (7 times), Perth (3 times), Christchurch (in 1906), and Hastings (in 1912). Though started in 1905, the tournament was not designated as being a major championship until 1924, by the International Lawn Tennis Federation (ILTF) in a 1923 meeting. The tournament committee changed the structure of the tournament to include seeding at that time. In 1972, it was decided to stage the tournament in Melbourne each year, at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club, because Melbourne attracted the biggest patronage of any Australian city. The tournament was played at the Kooyong club from 1972 until the move to the new Melbourne Park complex in 1988. On 4 October 2011, when they launched Australian Open 2012, the tournament director announced that the prize money was increased to A$26,000,000. It is the highest prize money for a tennis tournament. It was announced the prize money will be increased to AUD $40 million from 2015 onwards. The prize money awarded in the men's and women's singles tournaments is distributed equally. The total prize money for the next editions after 2015 tournament is AUD $40,000,000.

The Australian Open

Draws in Australian Open Tennis 2018:

The singles draw ceremony is held on January 2018. Fields are made up as follows:

Men’s singles

128 (104 direct entries based on rankings, 16 qualifiers, eight wildcards).

Women’s singles

128 (108 direct entries, 12 qualifiers, eight wildcards).

Men’s doubles

64 pairs, including seven wildcards.

Women’s doubles

64 pairs, including seven wildcards.

Mixed doubles

32 pairs, including seven wildcards.

Computer rankings:

Computer rankings are used as a basis for the seeding of 32 players in the singles championships. The first and second seeds are placed, respectively, at the top and bottom of the draw. All remaining seeds are then randomly drawn and placed in designated positions in the draw, followed by the remainder of the field, which is randomly drawn from top to bottom of the draw by IBM computer technology.

Grand Slam ranking points:

Players win twice as many points for a win in a Grand Slam match as they do for winning a match at the next level – ATP Tennis Masters Series and WTA Tour Tier Premier tournaments.

For further information please visit the official website at

Venue of Australian Open Tennis

Melbourne Park
Olympic Blvd, Melbourne VIC 3001, Australia

You can also enter your comment about this event

Stay up-to-date
Sign up for the latest news and information related to Australian Open Ten...